Remember when 6:30 used to be early?

I do. It still feels early but darn it, if that kid hasn’t trained me. So even if he “sleeps in”, boing, I’m still awake at 6:30. I’m waiting for the time when I’ll actually feel like being proactive at 6:30 in the morning, not just lay there and wonder why I’m awake. Maybe get up and make breakfast or read or do whatever people do at 6:30 in the morning. I think people go for a run…what a concept.

And I admit full on jealousy of those new moms who have kids who sleep til 8 or 9 or yes, I even have one friend whose 11 month old sleeps til 11. I don’t have one of those. I have a kid who wakes up at 6:30, sometimes 7 and we are all learning to be okay with it. Stupid daylight savings seems to be wreaking a wee bit of havoc on his previously perfect sleep patterns (hello child, it’s 12:30, don’t you want to go back to sleep? No? Not til 4) but it’s not a real complaint. No, no, I take that back. It’s a complaint. Duly noted and filed under general lack of sleep.

I guess mostly what I mean from this post is, I remember when I used to set an alarm for 7am and considered it a good day if I only pressed snooze 5x. And could get ready and out of the house in 30 minutes. We have managed to get out of the house in under an hour, but I think H was in such a state of shock over how fast I rushed him through breakfast while putting his pants on, he didn’t have time to complain. I don’t know if I miss the alarm/snooze thing, but I do know I’m not looking forward to the sleeplessness that comes with a new baby and managing that with a second older child who wakes up so “early” and having to get out to teach class at 9:30 in the morning.

Motherhood certainly comes with it’s own very specific set of challenges, doesn’t it.

Leave a comment

Filed under baby stuff, Balance, mom stuff

Leave a comment