Family Fun this weekend

I can’t believe it, but it seems as if we are approaching a weekend with no plans to visit grandparents or run off somewhere to do something and the weather is supposed to be hovering near 60! So I have devised a new plan which entails not leaving town (zip code?) and checking out some of the super fun things Brooklyn has to offer. First up is a trip to Coney Island and a visit to Ruby’s, just in case the city goes through with it’s awful plan to shut down this institution, I want to be able to tell H, hey, back in the day, you were there. Why do these things only occur to me when it’s almost too late. Sign the petition to save Ruby’s here.

But after that…here’s what I’ve learned.

Children’s Book Fair at the Brooklyn Museum – Saturday, November 13 from noon to 4pm. More than 30 Brooklyn authors and illustrators will join us at the fair, which features story books, picture books, and graphic novels. Author readings, a game for children, and café service will be offered. At 4:30 there will be a live interactive performance from The Electric Company.

I LOVE Children’s Books. I truly can not wait til H starts showing interest in books with a storyline. I have so many favorites I want to share with him. In the meantime, we will check out the Brooklyn Museum this Saturday.

Opening at The New Victory Theater this weekend – A different kind of circus – Ok, I really don’t love the Big Apple Circus. I get it, I know why kid’s love it, but sigh…I’m not looking forward to having to sit through another evening of Grandma’s hilarious hijinks again. Especially not when there’s this! The Squirm Burpee Circus: A Vaudevillian Melodrama opens at the New Victory Theater this weekend. Described as “a dazzling display of first-class circus skills, dapper dance moves and outrageous comedy, it’s a pastiche of pandemonium full of gadgets and gizmos.” Sign me up. More info and a clip of what to expect here.

Also on Saturday at the Brooklyn Public Library at 1pm – The Mark Morris Dance Company presents a preview of their Nutcracker ballet, The Hard Nut. Get a head start on holiday mayhem and join the MMDG dancers as they get the little ones involved. Maybe not appropriate for the 21-month old set, but I love me some Mark Morris dancers and this sounds like a ton of fun and a great way to introduce your little one to the wonderful world of ballet and a preview of a super fun ballet that moves into BAM on December 10.

My favorite yoga studio – Yoga Sole is having a clothing swap this Sunday from 1pm – 3pm. I always love an opportunity to look through other peoples stuff AND clean out my closet, especially now, since I think it’s fair to say I won’t be wearing any business casual for at least another year…if not, fingers crossed, longer. You don’t have to be a member of the studio to join in and all clothing not swapped will be donated. Check out the site for more details.

Also, every Sunday at the Farmer’s Market on 5th Avenue and 4th St. the Brooklyn favorite kids band, Rolie Polie Guacamole will play along with special guests from 3pm – 5pm.

And I’m sure there is so much more out there. Shoot, a nice walk through the park, a visit to the zoo, a train ride to the beach and a before they shut down all that is good and holy about Coney Island forever. (don’t forget to sign the petition here)

What are you doing this weekend?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Brooklyn, stuff that makes me happy, weekend fun

Leave a Reply

