I heart clothing swaps

Thanks A Child Grows in Brooklyn for the heads up about the clothing swap tomorrow at ArtsCetera in Carroll Gardens (maybe it’s Cobble Hill, I can’t ever tell which is where).

This is a great way to get rid of that outgrown baby stuff and get some new to you and your little one stuff. Because really, and I don’t say this lightly, Brooklyn parents dress their kids in cool clothes, and I have found some of the best stuff from the neighborhood stoop sales.

The details:

WHEN: Saturday, January 22nd, 2011
AT: ArtsCetera
ADDRESS: 212 Smith Street, between Baltic and Butler
TIME: 9-4pm
COST: $10 suggested donation per family, and at least a grocery sized bag of items. Cost includes a donation to charity and covers any costs associated with the event.

**If you are not interested in swapping, you can also drop off items.

ALSO – I just discovered this website Thred Up, It’s a kids clothing swap site where you post the clothes you have to get rid of based on gender, size and season and can pick other peoples clothes (or toys) and pay just $5 plus shipping for the box of stuff you pick. It gets pretty specific down to brand, color, details of wear. And if you post a box of stuff and someone wants it, the company contacts you and the shipping is paid for. AND they provide you with shipping boxes (just regular USPS boxes, but still better than having to go find them).   I haven’t tried it out yet, but since I’m officially out of all hand me downs and in my mind I’m projecting spring, I’ll probably give it a go soon. Check it out.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under baby stuff, Brooklyn, mom stuff, weekend fun

Leave a Reply

