Skinny Legs

Okay, sometimes I would lie in bed in the morning or on the couch at night with my legs up against the wall and say, man, I wish my legs looked like this all the time, they look really good upside down… when going against gravity.

I’m not the only one who’s ever done this right?

But here’s the thing. Since starting Stroller Strides, my legs look…better? Okay, I still don’t have those killer running legs that I am SO envious of and I have come to terms with the fact that they will never be long (you know that awful ice breaker question, if you could change one thing about yourself what would it be, or worse, if you had to have plastic surgery what would you have done? A: Longer calves and calf implants) and with the onslaught of pregnancy  and swollen everything, I am ready for them to get all puffed out. BUT, I have results of my effort. Leaner legs y’all.

Exercise works. I know this is an obvious statement. But for all the bazillions of classes I have taken in my life and pooped out of and the thousands of dollars I have spent on said classes and memberships and trainers, it’s taken motherhood to get me to focus on this one aspect of my life that has been so elusive. I swear every goal list I have ever made in my life of what I want to achieve has included, eat better, drink less, get fit. HA! Motherhood (and pregnancy) have forced my hand.

Last night I was watching the second half of Biggest Loser (yeah, that’s right, I watch the second half of Biggest Loser, I’d watch the whole thing, but Glee totally interferes) and one of the ladies said something along the lines of it doesn’t matter how hard you work out, if you don’t want to make the change and hold it in your heart and mind, you’re never going to see a difference. That is SO TRUE.

Dieting and exercise are so easy to fake or fall off from and we spend so much time giving and giving of ourselves – to our family and friends and community that it’s so easy to forget to take care of ourselves. Especially being new moms, when going to the gym before or after work was just something you did, and now it’s a challenge to find the time or energy to shower daily – it’s that much more important that we find the time to take the time for us. To make that change in our hearts and minds – to be strong for our kids and our partner and everyone and thing that asks of us each and every day.

I am NOT claiming I’m living my ideal life. Or that motherhood is the end all be all answer to what I’ve been looking for – I guess I’m just surprised (pleasantly) that it’s taken this road of having children for me to achieve so many things including the beginnings of those ideal upside down skinny legs. For the record, they’re not really skinny, they’re more toned and sort of lean?

Leave a comment

Filed under fitness, mom stuff, Stroller Strides

Leave a Reply

