Reasons I wish my kid ate anything other than the boring stuff he eats

Reason 1 – I could make this – Awesome Spider Web Pizza. But I know if I did he would pick at it, declare it too hot to eat and we’d go back to baked tofu and cucumbers for dinner.

There are so many other reasons (I’m not making this a list blog, yet) and I KNOW I should just be happy that he’s eating after so many months of nerve wracking not eating. But I swear…I am already SO sick of making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch.

ooh, maybe tomorrow I’ll make a peanut butter and jelly pinwheel. That’ll be fun. Oh, who am I kidding, that will surely be met with a yucky face followed by disdain. Who knew a 20-month old could display disdain so easily.

2 Comments

Filed under baby stuff, recipes

2 responses to “Reasons I wish my kid ate anything other than the boring stuff he eats

  1. Jen

    Remember the quote from Field of Dreams, “If you build it, they will come”? Well, if you make it, they will eat.

    Unless your toddler has a health issue, if you make them a healthy variety of foods to eat, they will eat it. Eventually. When they realize you’re really serious, and if they make faces and wait you out you WON’T run over and make them something else to eat, they will start trying the foods you make. Some won’t be a hit, but they’ll learn to be a more adventurous (and healthier) eater.

    My kids who used to think they only liked chicken nuggets and mac and cheese actually LOVE pesto now, and they loved it on a pizza with thin eggplant and zucchini slices! I thought a veggie pizza (with a little chicken sausage for more flavor) would be my lunch for the next few days, but they ate it all and asked for more!

    When my kids don’t want to eat something, they know they’re expected to try it, and unless it’s something I really don’t expect them to like (which I usually don’t serve them), they’re expected to eat a little. They’ve also learned to trust me. I don’t say it’s good unless it really is. If I make something that really didn’t turn out good at all, I let them know and say, “But try it – you might like it.” If they choose to be offensive, like say, “That’s disgusting,” they earn themselves a free ticket to Hungerville. (Only a few have done this, and only once. We expect our family members to be respectful of each other.)

    If my kids choose not to eat something we’ve served, they don’t get more of the thing they like. (If they don’t finish their small serving of meat, they don’t get more bread or noodles.) And if they only eat a tiny amount, they only get a tiny amount of dessert, which I make a special point to serve when they’re being picky. It really drives the point home when everyone else ate their food and is enjoying cake, and all they’re getting is one bite.

    Reward the behavior you want to see. Those little creatures are logical beings. Give them time, and they’ll figure it out.

    • Thanks for this! Sometimes I really need some reassurance that he will not starve himself. And I don’t want to have one of those kids who won’t try new things. My resolve this week is to make at least two new things for him to try. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

