Strength in Motherhood

Someone on fb recently posted “Why do you run?” I think it’s a Nike question. Last night, my Stroller Strides running group met. We had to run a total of 2 miles, broken up into 4 1/2 mile runs with 2 minute walks in between.

Before I started Stroller Strides, I didn’t run. I think there was a brief moment several years back when I pretended to run and one day ran almost 3 miles, but something happened…probably a hangover…and it just fizzled out (remember I said I’m exceptionally good at starting things).

I never in a bazillion years thought I would be running at 4 1/2 months pregnant. But last night as I was huffing and puffing down the road in the dark I thought about the question, why do I run? I am running because I want to be strong for my kids. Strong enough to continue to lift Harry even when I’m 9 months pg, strong enough to make it through this pregnancy while raising a toddler and to be able to deliver this baby without the use of any medical intervention. But I don’t just mean physical strength. There’s the mental strength that’s required to manage a family and home and business and take care of myself and my little fetus. And the emotional strength that I have to maintain to keep a happy husband and child and family and friends.

Last night while running I thought about all of this. I mean, I first thought, why am I doing this? I actually have free rein to go lie on the couch and eat those little chocolate covered ice cream things (which are no longer called bon bons, but will forever in my heart be bon bons). But that is not the kind of pregnancy I am going to have.

There is an undefinable strength in motherhood. One that I am just figuring out and its power is awesome. It allows me to do things I never thought I would do (all poop cleaning aside) and I am constantly amazed by the things that I find myself doing, when two years ago, I excelled at debauchery and lying on the couch (of which I remain a proud expert).

If I can do it, so can you. So…why do you run?

PS – While running, I also thought about how if I move my arms really fast while running my super slow pg pace, it makes me look like Tom Cruise.

3 Comments

Filed under fitness, Stroller Strides

3 responses to “Strength in Motherhood

  1. Amalia Parry

    i too am in total and complete awe at your seamless transformation from debauched hedonist to SUPER MOMMA. and you can STILL raise the roof when the sitch calls for it! great blog, dude. XOXOXOXOXOX

  2. Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing …

  3. Reanne Eichele

    Good for you! Until a foot injury sidelined me at 5 months pregnant with my third, I ran 3 miles every other day. I couldn’t walk for more than 5 minutes and needless to say, my fitness dropped. I also developed GD due to the drastic exercise loss. That motivated me (and my foot being healed after 3 months of rest) to start running again. I even ran 40 weeks pregnant and gave birth completely naturally! Good luck to you and keep it up!

Leave a Reply

